Thursday, 27 June 2019
Tuesday, 25 June 2019
Google’s staff banned from protesting YouTube under the company’s banner

Google has warned its employees that those who plan to ride the company’s sponsored float will not be allowed to protest against YouTube’s LGBTQ+ policy decisions. The tech giant points out it would be in violation of the company’s code of conduct. However, employees are allowed to peacefully protest YouTube or Google in other parts of the Pride parade, just not in their capacity as employees. Google’s employees are not happy with this response. Today, @Google told employees that while marching in the Google contingent in the @SFPride parade any protest against @YouTube‘s current policies,interpretation of policies,and so forth would be…
This story continues at The Next Web
Or just read more coverage about: YouTube,Google
from Social Media – The Next Web http://bit.ly/2Y8yCTu
via IFTTT
Patients’ social media use can threaten the reliability of clinical trials

Testing new pharmaceutical treatments is a complicated process. Very often, participants have preferences or hopes, either about what the test should measure or about what the outcome should be. Patients often enrol in the trial seeking access to experimental drugs while physicians usually have guesses about which treatment will work better. The sponsor will only recover millions of investment in the drug development if the trial is successful. Making sure that all these preferences do not shape the outcome of the test is crucial for its credibility. For that reason, treatments are often masked –“blinded” – so that neither physicians…
This story continues at The Next Web
from Social Media – The Next Web http://bit.ly/2KDoJKa
via IFTTT
Here’s how to delete or deactivate your Facebook account

Welcome to TNW Basics, a collection of tips, guides, and advice on how to easily get the most out of your gadgets, apps, and other stuff. Social platforms like Facebook walk a fine line between being handy and consuming your whole life. Whether your screen time notification says you’ve spent a horrendous amount of time on your phone today, or you just don’t feel the need to share every inch of your life on a news feed anymore — it might be time to finally pull the plug on your online life and delete your account temporarily… or forever. Although…
This story continues at The Next Web
Or just read more coverage about: Facebook
from Social Media – The Next Web http://bit.ly/2X5Otpi
via IFTTT
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)